Assault Charges in Pennsylvania?
Serious Defense For Serious Charges!
A conviction for an Assault charge of any level can have very serious consequences, including jail time, loss of child custody, loss of gun rights, loss of voting rights and loss of employment. Pennsylvania's assault laws are complicated. Don't delay in obtaining a Top Criminal Defense lawyer. Call Now!
Many people are charged with assault after getting in a fight, and it just so happens that the other person calls the police and files charges, regardless of who may have started the fight! Any kind of punch or brawl, or even just threatening someone with physical harm can get you charged. If someone files assault charges against you, and you end up getting arrested, you'll need an attorney to help explain what happened, and why the charges need to be dismissed!
If you have been contacted by the Police about such a situation and charges have not yet been filed, it is critically important that you obtain the best criminal attorney that you can immediately. Often, hiring an attorney at the earliest possible moment, before a charging decision has been made, can mean the difference from having to defend yourself in court and having no charges filed at all. The filing of charges should be avoided at all costs. An early investment in your defense can pay huge dividends.
Winning a PA Assault Charge.
Numerous Defense Strategies
Yes, there are many possible defenses. While assault charges can be difficult and emotional, there are few crimes with a higher degree of successful defense. Assault charges, when aggressively and affectively challenged are amongst the most difficult cases for prosecutors to prevail.
Defense of self, defense of others, defense of property. Who is the initial aggressor? Did you feel that the use of force was justified, Identification and criminal intent?
Simple Assault-Mutual Combat. 3rd degree Misdemeanor, punishable up to 1 year in prison/$2,500 fine.
Simple Assault. 2nd degree Misdemeanor, punishable up to 2 years in prison/$5,000 fine.
Simple Assault-Child <12 1st degree Misdemeanor, punishable up to 5 years in prison/$10,000 fine.
Strangulation (F) 2nd degree Felony, punishable up to 10 years in prison/$25,000 fine.
Strangulation (M) 2nd degree Misdemeanor, punishable up to 2 years in prison/$5,000 fine.
Aggravated Assault 2nd degree Felony, punishable up to 10 years in prison/$25,000 fine.
Aggravated Assault SBI 1st degree Felony, punishable up to 20 years in prison/$25,000 fine.
Aggravated Assault may be a Felony 1 or Felony 2, with penalties of up to 20 or 10 years in prison, respectively. An aggravated assault is a Felony 1 if serious bodily injury is caused with “extreme indifference to human life”, or if serious bodily injury is caused to a police officer, firefighter, or other law enforcement or government official.
Assault with a deadly weapon causing body injury is a Felony 2 (F2). A dangerous/deadly weapon may be a knife, bat, a car, truck or other automobile or vehicle, or almost any blunt object used with force against another person.
In addition to the possibility of winning your assault case by employing some of the legal defenses mentioned above, often these difficult cases are amenable to substantial reductions through plea negotiations. You need an experienced Pennsylvania defense attorney to obtain the best possible results.
Having any criminal charge is a serious matter! An Assault conviction on your record could permanently damage your reputation and limit your future opportunities. Consult with an experienced attorney familiar with handling these difficult cases.
Don't delay, your defense starts now! Attorney Jeffrey Veitch has the experience and skill you need and will do everything possible to achieve the best possible outcome in your case.
Call today to schedule a consultation with Attorney Veitch and protect your future.